Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: HowTo Ubuntu 32 bit with 4Gb

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    75

    Question HowTo Ubuntu 32 bit with 4Gb

    Hi,

    I have a macbook pro with 4Gb RAM.

    It was quite simple to make it a pure linux machine as this http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=198453

    But .. I really wanted to use those 4Gb because I plan to run some virtual machines ...

    The solution was to use a 64 bit system .. but .. soon I noticed that
    I was 'downgrading' quite everything from 64 to 32 bit because of incompatibilty problems ...

    So I looked a little bit more about 32 bit solutions with PAE
    (Physical Address Extension)

    In a linux kernel it is just a kernel config parameter : CONFIG_HIGHMEM64G

    In Ubuntu Desktop kernel it has not been set by default, in Ubuntu Server kernel it has
    been set .. but Ubuntu Server kernel is optimized for a Server not for a desktop environement
    (no preemption, timer interrupt of 100Hz against 250Hz for the desktop ... )

    So the solution was to recompile the kernel.

    The problem is my config (as many other) relies on some restricted-modules. There are some information on
    the ubuntu wiki about how to recompile those restrited modules for a custom kernel but it is quite a hack of
    config files .. not so straightforward.

    To keep it simple, I just created a new kernel with same name (abi,flavour..) and so
    recompile the restricted module with default config files .. and that's it !


    Here it is :

    create a work directory

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install linux-kernel-devel fakeroot build-essential
    
    sudo apt-get build-dep linux-image-$(uname -r)
    apt-get source linux-image-$(uname -r)
    
    sudo apt-get build-dep linux-ubuntu-modules-$(uname -r)
    apt-get source linux-ubuntu-modules-$(uname -r)
    
    sudo apt-get build-dep linux-restricted-modules-common
    apt-get source linux-restricted-modules-common
    go to linux-xxxx

    and edit debian/config/i386/config.generic

    (adapt the path to your platform and flavour)

    change the folowing lines :

    Code:
    # CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G=y
    CONFIG_HIGHMEM64G=y
    Now compile kernel and modules

    go to linux-xxx

    Code:
    CONCURRENCY_LEVEL=2 AUTOBUILD=1 NOEXTRAS=1 fakeroot debian/rules binary-debs flavours=generic
    go to linux-ubuntu-modules-xxx/
    Code:
    CONCURRENCY_LEVEL=2 AUTOBUILD=1 fakeroot debian/rules binary-debs flavours=generic
    go to linux-restricted-modules-xxx
    Code:
    CONCURRENCY_LEVEL=2 AUTOBUILD=1 fakeroot debian/rules binary-indep binary-arch
    Now install all packages :

    go to the root of your working directory
    Code:
    sudo dpkg -i linux-image-xxx-generic_2.6.24-19.34_i386.deb
    sudo dpkg -i linux-headers-xxx-generic_2.6.24-19.34_i386.deb
    sudo dpkg -i linux-ubuntu-modules-xxx-generic_xxx_i386.deb
    sudo dpkg -i linux-headers-lum-xxx-generic_xxx_i386.deb
       
    sudo dpkg -i linux-restricted-modules-xxx-generic_2.6.24.13-19.44_i386.deb 
    sudo dpkg -i nvidia-glx-new_169.12+xxx_i386.deb
    (this is for macbook pro 4. Your platform might have other restricted package to be installed)

    Reboot and DO NOT udate your kernel and modules with ubuntu repo's because you will go back to the beginning !

    Hope this help you to use your 4 Gigs !

    Screnshot in attachment ..
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot.png 
Views:	264 
Size:	138.4 KB 
ID:	76964  
    Last edited by phico; July 11th, 2008 at 11:24 PM.

  2. #2

    Re: HowTo Ubuntu 32 bit with 4Gb

    Moved to Tips and Tutorials.
    Learning is not attained by chance, it must be sought for with ardor and attended to with diligence. Abigail Adams ( 1744 - 1818 ), 1780;

    My blog Poetry and More Free Ubuntu Magazine

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    75

    Re: HowTo Ubuntu 32 bit with 4Gb

    Thanks, it's better here indeed !

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    30

    Re: HowTo Ubuntu 32 bit with 4Gb

    Thank you phico. I was planning to buy two additional GBs and wondered if I could use them without a 64bit system
    Is there a flag one could set to prevent automatic kernel updates without having to check all the updates every time?

    And (this may sound dumb, because I have no expertise at all with 64bit systems) does all 32bit software still work on a 64Bit-system (while only using 4 GB of ram even if you have way more) or doesn't it? I mean, was your reason for it that you still used 32bit software or what do you mean with "downgrading"?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    New Jersey (yuck)
    Beans
    48
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: HowTo Ubuntu 32 bit with 4Gb

    I just use the server kernel. I can use all of my 4 GB of RAM.
    2008 WORLD EFFING CHAMPION PHILADELPHIA PHILLIES
    "I'm the guy who does his job. You must be the other guy."

    Ubuntu 8.10 x86_64, Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, nVidia GeForce 8600GT

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    75

    Re: HowTo Ubuntu 32 bit with 4Gb

    Quote Originally Posted by TheAL76 View Post
    I just use the server kernel. I can use all of my 4 GB of RAM.
    This is simpler to setup but I would not advice this because ...
    there are other differences between Desktop and Server kernel.
    And of course Server kernel is not optimized for a Desktop.

    For example there is no preemption in server kernel.
    The server timer frequency is set to a 100 HZ while the desktop is set to 250 HZ ..

    http://www.ubuntu.com/products/whati...eatures/kernel

    So I prefer to recompile the Desktop kernel with the only PAE flag
    to get a Desktop optimized kernel with 4Gb up to 64Gb support ..
    Last edited by phico; July 11th, 2008 at 11:20 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    75

    Re: HowTo Ubuntu 32 bit with 4Gb

    Quote Originally Posted by Klaue View Post
    Is there a flag one could set to prevent automatic kernel updates without having to check all the updates every time?
    I try to find the same .. but no way until now. I just uncheck
    module, kernel and header at each update with update manager

    Quote Originally Posted by Klaue View Post
    does all 32bit software still work on a 64Bit-system (while only using 4 GB of ram even if you have way more) or doesn't it? I mean, was your reason for it that you still used 32bit software or what do you mean with "downgrading"?
    Some (most of actually) 32 bit applications can work on 64 bit os
    if you install some additional libs. Now it is not straightforward
    and you have most of the time some additional hack to do ..

    For example getting java and flash plugin working on firefox 64 bit
    is a nightmare (no Sun Java plugin, Flash working not all the time...)
    Then you can try to install firefox 32 with some hack to get it
    working on 64 bit os ... and so and so .... I also get java
    libraries not working on java 64 bits (even some sun sdk ...)

    In the result it was more a battle to get 32 bit applications working
    on 64 bit ! So I decided to go back to 32 bit + PAE because I get
    4Gb support + all compatibilty. But the day java 64 is more used
    and all firefox plugin are available in 64 bit .. I definitely go
    for 64 bit
    Last edited by phico; July 11th, 2008 at 11:20 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    35

    Re: HowTo Ubuntu 32 bit with 4Gb

    Just an alert to those having T61 or similar hardware. After following the instruction, the kernel can discover upto 4GB RAM but the volume, wireless, webcam (nvcvideo) all become not working.

    I think Ubuntu team should enhance the current version or provide a non-compile way to discover upto 4GB.

    Anyway, thanks for the post as I do learn the way to compile a new kernel.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: HowTo Ubuntu 32 bit with 4Gb

    thanks very much for this!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: HowTo Ubuntu 32 bit with 4Gb

    Thanks for that info kkfok1. I almost pulled the trigger on a recompile this morning of my R61i and have decided against it.

    I wish that it was just enabled by default. Don't really want to go through the hassle of switching to 64 bit...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •